Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Catch-up

I'm still renting the first floor flat with the huge box bay window and fairy lights. I've had access to the flat directly below mine for two months now and I'm gradually getting work done on it. The guy who did live in that flat was good at taking care of himself and his home. He worked as a truck driver, he didn't smoke and he enjoyed cooking proper meals for himself in a proper kitchen. He had a mini-stroke which meant he was no longer permitted to drive trucks, which saddened him, and then he got a cancer diagnosis, which he remained stoically up-beat about. He now lives quite close by in a place where he gets more support because it's harder to take good care of yourself if you are all alone and receiving cancer treatment.
I now have access to the other ground floor flat, round the back, facing the garden.
The guy who lived in that flat was incapable of taking care of himself or his home, hadn't worked for years, did smoke and lived in constant physical pain, this is the one I wrote to the king about when he slit his own wrists in a cry for help.
On Sunday he finally moved into sheltered accommodation where he can live independently in a community of others of his own generation with similar needs and with a warden to call if they need assistance.
There is a massive amount of work to do to rehabilitate this noxious cave, but my landlord is kindly doing all he can to speed up the process.
Meanwhile, we are both hoping that our respective lawyers are thrashing out a contract that will transfer ownership from him to me in the next few weeks.
I won't breach the partition between the two ground floor flats until this one is less offensive, but we all hope that contracts can be exchanged and apartments combined about a month from now.

These images are clear daylight. That yellowness is the actual colour of the nicotined interior.
The bathroom should be the main, but I can't, I just can't.

Blip is not behaving the way I'm used to. There is something much nicer to take this nasty taste away if you page back one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.