The Way I See Things

By JDO

Bold

R has just taken up drawing again after a bit of a hiatus, and he's tasked me with taking a photo of a boldly marked grasshopper for him to use as reference for a sketch. When I spotted this Field Grasshopper my first reaction was to say, "Aha!", which probably made the poor creature wonder what I was planning to do next, but after I'd enticed him onto a grass stalk to get a better look at him I said, "I'm sorry, but on second thoughts I'm afraid you're too strongly marked: I don't think you'd work well in mono. Thank you for your interest in this role, and good luck with your future career." To my surprise, he seemed to take umbrage at this perfectly courteous dismissal, used the grass stalk as a springboard, made a huge leap into the air, and flew away. If he wants to carry on working in the arts, he'll need to learn to handle rejection a lot more gracefully than that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.