Buried in nectar

I had to head up to Nelson today for a couple of appointments, and took the opportunity to catch up with Second half of Life over a coffee.

As usual when I head to Nelson, I couldn't resist stopping in first at my favourite park where the monarch butterflies winter over. There weren't all that many of them clustered today - they were all out and about around the park feeding on anything that was flowering.

This pair were sharing the goodies in this camellia. I love the fact that their enthusiasm has their heads completely buried in the stamens. And the fact that the butterflies (particularly the one in behind) are looking about as weathered as the flower is. Neither camellias nor butterflies stand up all that well to some of the harsh weather we've had lately.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.