Today's the day

By sheilwill

Me by the sea

Today's the day . . . . . . . to recognise 

I received this picture yesterday from my cousin Bob, who came to stay with us recently with his wife Françoise - and I have to say, it brought back lots of memories. 

Bob thought that it was taken in possibly 1956 on the waterfront at Gourock - and it features (from left to right) Bob, me holding hands with my brother Ron, my cousin Anne behind  (Bob's big sister) and then holding Ron's other hand, my sister Marj.  The thing I could identify with immediately was the dress I was wearing.  It was a pale blue brushed cotton and made by my mother, who also did the smocking (remember that?) across the top.

I sent it on to my sister, because I thought she would like to see it too.  She did and you'll never guess what her first comment was?  Yes, it was that dress - because, of course, my mother had made one for her too . . . . . . . . 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.