Munni

By Munni

Windowless

For the second time this week, a day in the sound studio. This isn’t my workplace but that of L, the sound engineer. My place is on his left, where I am directing the voice actors who are narrating the commentary (which I have written) of a TV documentary. 

“Directing” sounds a lot more interesting than the job really is. Mostly it’s just making sure that a) the timing is right, b) there aren’t any mistakes in the spoken sentences, and c) every name gets pronounced correctly. 

Most of the work is actually done by the voice actor and the sound engineer. I enjoy the studio days, because they are a break from my usual routine, but they demand a lot of concentration, and the windowless room without daylight tends to make me feel tired after a while. So, I am feeling exhausted now, even though I didn’t do anything but to sit and listen attentively for a couple of hours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.