Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Escaping the coming storm

There were spectacular thunderstorms overhead last night. I normally sleep through them but on this occasion the lightning that kept waking me up. 

My sleeping brain wondered who kept on turning on the lights. Then my mind (being as it is) started wondering why the light was so blue.

Crashes and bangs inevitably followed.

Normally I would avoid the hill when storms are forecast but I found a window where I could pop up and look at the clouds. It was murky to the south over The City (see extra) with regular cumulus to the north. 

Overhead was a large black cloud (cumulonimbus).

I picked my moment well because people were soon scurrying for cover as the rains fell again. Dragging their children behind them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.