curns' corner

By curns

Chicken burger

I got up and went for my morning walk just before 8 a.m. It took some convincing, but I'm glad I did it. I managed to get ground coffee from Tesco, which meant I was able to get through my morning as usual.

I messaged to double-check if they were still up for the quiz. After finishing work, we walked to The Alexandra. I opted for the menu special, the pulled chicken burger, which turned out to be incredibly delicious. Interestingly, the bun was surprisingly hot to the touch when it was served, possibly because it had been resting under one of those heat lamps.

When I returned to the table, J&M had already arrived. We listened to their latest adventures touring universities with their kids. Southampton appeared to have been a hit last weekend.

The quiz presented more of a challenge than usual but also resulted in much closer competition among the 17 teams. We achieved a joint 4th place, which felt like a significant accomplishment. I felt frustrated when "tin" correctly answered the question about periodic elements not containing letters in the word "mackerel" and I’d only realised after we had submitted our answers.

We are booked again for next month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.