BJH

By BJH

Thankful for some shade

Temperatures have risen again today and they've now reached 30°C inside the house!! Fortunately it's still considerably cooler in the area downstairs where Rosie lives but the heat is really making me suffer when I'm not with her and every slightest bit of exertion is making me drip. Thankfully some clouds appeared this afternoon while I was riding towards the sanctuary and there was also a little breeze which gave some relief, albeit only a little.

After my very slow walk with Brutus, during which we stayed out of the sun as much as possible, I sat in the shade again on the terrace of the nearby museum's café for about 30 minutes with a much-needed cold drink. I had to do some shopping on the way back but before riding home I stopped at the artificial island for a short while to see whether there had been any progress at the Great Crested Grebe's nest. It was too hot to stand there in the blazing sunshine for very long but fortunately the Grebe stood up briefly while I was there. I couldn't get a clear enough shot of all the eggs because of the plants that blocked my view but I don't think any of them have hatched yet as far as I could see in the few not so great photos that I did manage to take.

Although all the plants and reeds are a nuisance and make it very difficult to photograph the Grebe and its nest, I'm still glad that she has chosen a nest site where she can enjoy some shade and doesn't have to sit in the hot sun the entire day.

Thank you so much for the lovely comments and stars on my blip of Rosie from yesterday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.