To Dad

Though gone, you are still with me,
I can always feel you near;

In the joyfulness of laughter,
In the sorrow of a tear.

In the softness of the petals
Of roses gently blown.

In the sweetness of the perfume
Of grasses newly mown.

In the tumbling of the shingle
When waves break on the shore.

In the galloping white horses
And the seas ceaseless roar.

In the bright painted beauty
Of a butterfly's wing.

In the chorus at day's dawning,
When the waking birds sing.

In the rustling of the wind
As it whispers to the trees.

In the hissing summer grasses,
And the breath of the breeze.

In the singing of the skylark
As it soars into the blue.

You will be forever with me,
And I always with you.



It was my Dad's funeral today .... this was a poem I wrote for him, which we put in the order of service.

A difficult day, both joyous and sad, shared with dear family and friends who helped me through.

Exhausted now .....

Back blips for last few days:

Silk
Tweedledee and Tweedledum
Night Steps
Lewes Sunset
Spoon Obscura





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.