TheOttawacker

By TheOttawacker

Musings

Wet and miserable day. Had a bit too much to drink last night but will survive. Sad to hear about the death of Ron Yeats from Alzheimer’s disease. There are a lot of athletes suffering from that – especially the footballers and rugby players. And then I heard about Rebecca Cheptegei being brutally murdered back home, and it all seemed so pointless. Not her death, I wouldn’t dare lessen the impact of that with a trite comment; but life. There she was, running the Paris marathon, with us watching her and cheering her on at the beginning (Mrs. Ottawacker always goes for the oldies), at the top of her game and living her best life… and then it all disappears in a poof of smoke. How can that make any sense?
 
Anyway, I was thinking of all that as I was sitting in the front room enjoying my own domestic bliss. Mrs Ottawacker and Ottawacker Jr. playing Uno and watching the occasional crappy video on the big screen; Tui lying on the table. It seems so incredibly unfair that I have so much and some absolute bastard kills a talented young woman because she won some Olympics prize money.
 
As I said, how the hell can that make any sense?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.