Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Across the water

A dull day today, but I forced myself out to play with my new extendable pole saw, taking off several small limbs from a few of the trees on my bank. Not having a trailer to cart the prunings off to the dump, I have to open out a bulk bag in the back of the car, cut up all the prunings and stuff them into the bag. It's going to take a while, even to clear up what I've already cut!

Fortunately 'The Dump' is only a few minutes drive out of Oban, so I got rid of the first bag - my plan will have to be little and often!

The town was chock-a-block - school pick-up time - so I turned off and across the hill down to the coast at the Sound of Kerrera and drove back that way. Not quicker, but hardly any traffic. My Blip today is the view across the Sound to the island of Kerrera, with the ferry just about to dock. Not the best day for photography, but we get used to it!

I took a picture of one of my planters - I like the simple combination of silver cineraria and Sanvitalia 'Aztec Gold', my extra today. I might make more of it next year if I can propagate the Sanvitalia.

Quote of the Day: 'Islands are reminders of arrivals and departures.' - Gretel Ehrlich.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.