Statues Stand Still

This is on campus at Willamette U., the closest greenspace to my office. I have puzzled over this statue many times, but today I read the plaque and discovered that this commemorates the fine relationship the school has had with the town, throughout its tenure. This is shown by the difference in their dress and what is on their heads -- mortarboards for the scholars, other hats for the townies. I'm not sure it makes its point. The other strange thing about this, which is hard to tell in the picture, is that these figures are about four feet tall.

In other excitement, I got trained in how to open the mail in case the union went on strike. But they didn't, so I didn't have to remember the five items that need to be verified on a check.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.