antipodean

By antipodean

MYT Day 1: Tequila Hat!

Here's Joelan looking pretty jaunty in his tequila hat. Despite the fact that the hat made the rounds, I'm pretty sure no one actually drank any tequila...

Mid Year Trip time! My day actually started with a quick trip into the city to sort out some banking things, but since we didn't have to be down at Phillip Island until about 3:30 I was able to get it all done by lunch time.

Julia came to mine and we packed the car up, double checked the route and set off for our first MYT (Jess's uni group does it every year and this time we went along too). We had a few issues on the way there - we go diverted before we'd even hit the freeway, we almost turned onto Citylink, the tollway, and part of the highway we needed was closed, which led to me reversing back up a tiny lane after taking a wrong turn (thanks google maps) - but amazingly we were the first to arrive.

The house Jess organised was absolutely amazing. It was ginormous and it had about a million bedrooms, two kitchens, a pool/table tennis table, a spa and a rooftop terrace. By the time everyone arrived it actually felt quite full, but at first we were wondering how we'd fill the space.

We celebrated the first evening with drinks, tacos, more drinks and an amazing round of singstar - I laughed until I cried, and I even got up and sang myself (Julia and I did a Panic! At the Disco song for old times sake). A brilliant start to the week.

Quite a few of the tequila hat shots were great, but I liked this one the best. I wish I'd got more of the beer bottle in because I feel like the framing is slightly off - like it's a bit out of proportion, maybe? But I was photographing under the influence of alcohol so I think this is a pretty good picture considering!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.