Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

The Namji trio

I have these fierce looking Namji dolls on display at home and decided they should be my still life for this weeks MM.  Thanks for hosting Carolina.

The two ladies were purchased in South Africa in 2007 and I was told that they had come from Cameroon at the time.  The man was a purchase here but I think his origins are also from Cameroon.  I believe that these, which are more of the traditional style, are fertility dolls.   A google search of them shows much more stylish looking dolls if you are buying them today but they still have those bead eyes, bead and shell decorations.

I have put the colour shot of them up in the extra so you can see how lovely (IMO) they are.  And yes, I do have a lot of African artifacts in my house.

Edit:  Sorry Carolina, I missed the "kitchen" part of the theme.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.