Life through the lens...

By ValC

Unexpected encounter!

Parked up at Shibden, Halifax to meet up with the Pudseys.
It was our walk up the Shibden Valley which we recced on the 19th August. ( see Blip)

This lady walked passed and looked rather familiar.
I didn’t expect to see a Gentleman Jack in person!
I asked if I could take her photo and then an American gentleman asked if I would like him to take a photo of us both.
So here you have it me and Anne Lister.
AKA Gentleman Jack.

Later 7 friends turned up for the walk.
Dull when we set off but soon the sun came out which made it very pleasant.
It was again quite a scramble up the hillside to reach the top. Although after climbing Embsay Crag last week I found it easier. Some of the others did find it difficult however.

Anyhow we made it, and when back at Shibden enjoy a cuppa sat outside the cafe overlooking the lake. Dozens of Canada geese and gulls, some chasing one another.
We were also surprised to see a fox when we were sat having lunch. I think he was very surprised to see us too.
Also spotted a deer on the hillside.

An enjoyable day for us all.
What a beautiful peaceful valley it is and hidden away not many people know of it.

I think next time we will have to find a walk which is a little less hilly!
Group photo see extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.