Log Freuchie

By Freuchie

Maryhill Art

I was early for my appointment at the health centre this morning, so I popped into the Maryhill Burgh Halls complex. 

I love their display of stained glass panels featuring a wide variety of industries that were prevalent in the area in the past. Today, however, it was the children's colourful artwork on the walls that caught my eye. This one of the burgh hall itself was my favourite.

The swish new Maryhill Health Centre was built on the site of the demolished Gairbraid Primary School, where I had been both student and newly-qualified teacher in the early 70s. I'd heard that there was a book of people's memories of the old school and would have been interested to see if I recognised any of my former pupils' names among the comments. When I enquired, however, I was told that the book had been removed during the pandemic and never put back out on display. What a shame!

That's Friday again and after a week of beautiful Indian summer weather, it's back to dull and dreich for the weekend. Enjoy it anyway, blipmates.

.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.