Pinkhairedlady

By Pinkhairedlady

A lovely day

The weather was decidedly autumnal today but we very much enjoyed our tour round Dalkeith palace with our Rotarian friends this morning. Fascinating history and I’ve now got two new books to read based on people associated with the house. The curator Charlotte was a wonderful guide and we all enjoyed the stories she told us. Will be back fur another visit soon.

In one of the rooms was a most magnificent floral painted mirror but as the room was dimmed to protect the parquet flooring I decided not to use it as my main blip. Instead you gave the floral display in the coffee shop. Thanks to BikerBear for hosting.

After the tour we headed to the local Italian for lunch and had some interesting chats with our fellow guests.

Home for a couple of hours before I caught the bus into town to meet my sister for a coffee. For various reasons she broke off contact with my brother and myself after our dad died in 2010 and we’ve only recently been able to get back in touch. We spent an hour or so catching up amicably and parted with plans to get together again soon.

I then headed to a church hall for an author event featuring Peter May. Mr PHL joined me after picking Phin up from daycare and sorting out his dinner before leaving him in charge (as we always do when we leave him home alone).

A fascinating insight into why Mr May became an author and how he carries out his research. I bought his latest book and queued up to have him sign it and so I could take the opportunity to tell him I also knew him as a fellow blipper. He was lovely to chat to but I didn’t want to take up too much of his time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.