ztuzzer

By ztuzzer

Hungover Stroll

With the ceilidh behind us and our hangover's enduring, me and Martha decided to walk it off with a stroll across the island. By stroll I mean more of an hour's hike, but it wasn't anything to strenuous and the walk was full of interesting things enroute. For such a small island, Eigg surprisingly hosted a lot of intriguing things, mainly it's history. On the way there was the old local shop; though by local it was quite literally in the middle of nowhere! One of the things I found most curious about the island was how up until the 1920s Eggs were used as currency on the island! Which just expresses how independent the island really is, though I must clarify that this has nothing to do with the islands name, which is actually Gaelic for Hollow as the island sit's upon a large magma chamber! The walk was finished off with an absoloutely beautiful beach cradelled between the valleys, topped with the absolutely glorious weather, this really wasn't a bad hangover day. The snap I have uploaded was one I quite liked, as it was just one of the many curious objects on the walk. I think the reflection in the puddle makes this a really interesting photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.