wingpig

By wingpig

spontaneous

I'm not generally in the habit of catching up with people I haven't caught up with for ages to have much to benchmark things against, but I'd always be curious to see what has happened to people's voices when they escaped Lincolnshire early and went to live somewhere with a very different accent, such as today's family-friend-son-visiting-my-parents-with-his-father whilst they had other business nearby, who has been living in Australia for most of the past thirty years and who I last saw when I crashed at his place in Southampton when I went for my uni visit there, prior to not getting sufficient grades for their biology course, unless he popped round to borrow our ladder to de-moss his parents' gutters during uni holidays. It's definitely possible to pick out his original voice underneath and there's a commonality between his manner and gestures back then and the Australinified versions. He was a few years above my elder sister, didn't go to the swimming club and was mostly only a vague acquaintance through his parents' village-dignitary status, though he did babysit my sister and I fairly regularly, when we would usually watch taped episodes of Indelible Evidence he brought over. His mum died a few years ago back in the village but his dad has since escaped to move nearer to his sister, though once had ancestors nearby, whose legacy they were going to visit tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.