simonsblips

By simonslife

Tuesday

I’m becoming quite a favourite of the poultry here, I suppose I am the one that chats, feeds, and gives fresh water to them every day. Today was no exception and the hens kindly presented some freshly laid eggs.
One of the rescue bantams in the front garden has been prolific, laying an egg each day for the past couple of months.
More laundry and a general tidy up of the room where lots of the glamping equipment is stored revealed my lost waterproof coat which N had placed in the lost property heap.
A dustbin full of waste food from a nearby pub restaurant stood near to their often temporary “sty”, much to heavy for me in my present state of recovery but by using a large plastic jug and a bucket I soon emptied it and brought peace and quiet to the sty.
I was responsible for four of the pack of dogs today and they were all in good form, the two puppies generally dashing around at full speed or in a full jaw hold with blood curdling noises emitting from somewhere in the melee. Dippy crashing out mid afternoon for a few recovery minutes. See extra.
A search of one of the freezers revealed a non canine pack of six faggots, supper sorted, except that no peas could be found! I organised a mercy mission and the menu was complete.
As the Aga did its work with the faggots and kept the mash and gravy warm a shout for help came from my “bus field” where it’s extraction had hit problems. The landrover came to the rescue and failed, next plan was a 10 ton army lorry which just happened to be here. A part success was achieved before complete darkness fell, more on this one tomorrow.
A kitchen full of practical friends enjoyed a warm drink and some snacks before T, H and myself devoured the faggots, mashed potatoes and peas.
After much banter and discussion about how the bus might enjoy its next journey from field to low-loader at the weekend!
Zzzzzz

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.