PaulaJ

By PaulaJ

Melting Moments?

Following on from yesterday and cook books, today I came across these two books that I had forgotten all about. A lot of people will remember Be-Ro books from their childhood. 

Be-Ro 
I did not know that it was a Thomas Bell who founded a wholesale grocery firm near Tyne quays in Newcastle in the 1880s and among his top-selling brands were ‘Bells Royal’ baking powder and self-raising flour. Following the death of Edward VII, it became illegal to us the Royal name, so Bell decided to take the first couple of letters from each word - hence Be-Ro. The first Be-Ro cookbook was given out at exhibitions to encourage home baking using the new self-raising flour. Edition 1 was in 1923. 

This 37th Edition was published in 1982, but I know I had older ones before that. I was looking online for copies from the 1940s and 50s and instantly recognised the ones my mother used. I remember all the things she used to make . . . including Melting Moments! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.