middleman

By middleman

Infection

The last of my five days off work and I made the most of it.

An easy morning with book and sofa, followed by a sun-splashed alfresco pedal out back before heading into town for 'stuff'.

A second visit to the excellent El Anatsui exhibition at Talbot Rice Gallery (it finishes in a few days time, it's free, if you're in Edinburgh and you've not been yet you really are missing a trick!) and then on to Stills for the equally excellent Ukrainian photography exhibition 'Home'.

My partner left her job after many, many years of service yesterday and starts her new one on Monday so to celebrate all this she treated me to the Istanbul-themed tasting menu at Six By Nico early evening. Some stunning flavours there, and a very nice treat indeed.

Finally, phew, a gig! The The at The Usher Hall. A gig of literally two halves where Matt Johnson first played all of (or most of, I dunno, I've not heard it) his new album before a short intermission and then a second half featuring all the hits. I listened patiently during the first half and it was fine but when the band came out after the aforementioned short intermission and tore straight into an incredible version of 'Infected' with no introduction whatsoever....yeah, it really took off.

"I can't give you up"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.