Marking Time

By Libra

Positive and negative- ageing

Today my friend  Anne-Marie   visited my exhibition “The Real and the Unreal” in Dunblane museum and I asked her to choose a photo to be photographed with.
 
( Backround info the exhibition is AI generated hence the title.).
 
To my surprise she selects this of an older woman.
 
“Why?” I ask.
“ Because I want to show the positive sign of ageing.”
Anne-Marie is a 75-year-old American.
 
I had asked the   algorithim to produce an image of an older woman , and as we know these machines are designed by young people, mostly men, and it repeats the stereotypes of ageing in our society.
 
But the reality is that the average older woman in her 70s would be unrecognizable to her own grandparents thanks to better nutrition, health and living standards.
 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.