Living my dream

By Mima

Maligned

It turns out that the nesting Sparrows do know what they are doing, contrary to my musings yesterday.

After watching them this morning I see that they are filling the nest from the side entrance, and that the lovely circular hole is in fact the back door through which excess nest material is spilling out.
 
The more stuff they shove into it from the side, the more falls out of the front. There is masses of space in there, so I don’t think the same will happen with any eggs, although if it does I will pop a plug in the hole for them.

I am surrounded by teetering piles of fabric today
 
For more than a quarter of a century I have saved the material from almost everything which has worn out: trousers, shirts, sarongs, sheets, pillowcases, throws, tablecloths. There are also various items of clothing which I no longer wear, and off-cuts from sewing projects from over the years.
 
All kept because one day it might be useful.
 
The resulting boxes of fabric are stored in a cupboard and I dip into them for patching, or when I want to make a new pair of comfy trousers, or FabWrap in which to send christmas and birthday presents.
 
The boxes have overflowed and it is clear that there is far more than I will ever use.
 
Consequently I am in the process of getting rid of the bulk of it. I will keep only the most useful or attractive bits of cloth.  And then I will reward myself making a new pair of loose summer trousers with some of the cloth I keep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.