CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Red Admiral butterfly on a evening primrose flower

The weather has been very changeable today. Mist, rain, cloud, sunshine and then a repeat performance.

I looked out of  my study window when the sun was out adn was delighted to see a butterfly flitting about the upper part of the garden. Stuck up high in my study window I didn’t think I’d see it land let alone have a chance to photograph it. 

It seemed to have flown next door and then returned and by chance it made a ‘bee’ line for the yellow flowers of an evening primrose plant growing near the back steps up to the dining room. I quickly leaned out as far as possible and managed to twist far enough round to focus on the very wet flower. I’m now very surprised to find the butterfly in reasonably good focus. It is a Red Admiral or Vanessa Atalanta, which are not uncommon but I certainly have seen very few in our garden this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.