Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

FLOWER FRIDAY AND A GOOD MEAL

Early this morning, while it was still raining, I went out into the garden in my pink robe and wearing my pink flip flops, to cut one of Mr. HCB’s dahlias.

When I saw this one, its head was down and it was very wet on the back, but not too bad on this side, so I cut it and brought it indoors where I then took several shots - all before I had had my breakfast or even a cup of coffee.

I knew I needed to take an early shot because we were going out for lunch - to use a Red Letter Day voucher Mr. HCB had been given for his birthday a couple of years ago.  We couldn’t use it at that time because it was for a walk and I didn’t feel up to walking then, so I exchanged it for a meal in a local hostelry.  

When we arrived at the Cross Keys at Royal Wootton Bassett, I was a little dismayed, as it was obviously a “Sports Pub” with lots of televisions all around and quite basic tables and chairs, so although the cricket on the big screen wasn’t live, it was enough to interest Mr. HCB, as you might guess!

However, despite the décor and furnishings, the food was excellent and we couldn’t fault it.    Speaking to Amy, our waitress, she said that after Covid the pub had been taken over by another company and from serving basic but good hearty food, such as meat and two veg, they changed to serving the menu they have now, but they were gradually building up the business and were pleased with how it was going.  I did say that I had looked at lots of reviews and they were all very favourable, which was why we had booked.

When Amy came to clear our table after we had finished, I gave her one of my little wooden hearts - of course I did - and also found Will, who had served us and then the man in the kitchen who had prepared our food to give them one too.  We told them all that we had enjoyed our meal and that the food was excellent - they all smiled and thanked us.  I will report to Red Letter Day how pleased we were and of course, mention all three.  As I said to Amy, in this day and age, we are all too quick to criticise and not half quick enough to praise, but praise was definitely due to them today.  

On the way back to our car, I saw the car I have put in as an extra - and as I was about to take a photograph, a lady unlocked the car with a fob.  I saw man looking at us a bit suspiciously, obviously because I was photographing their car - it turned out to be her husband - and they owned the car.  I explained about Blip and said that I was surprised to see a car with our name on the number plate but I have removed some of the registration for obvious reasons.  The man then explained that they were also called “Iles” and asked if our name was spelled the same.  We said it was and then we had a lovely conversation with them - perhaps I should get Mr. HCB a personalised number plate for Christmas!  Mr. HCB told the couple that when he and his brother played cricket many years ago, they played at a village called Goatacre, where there were 9 people with the name Iles playing for the opposing village team, so with the two of them, they could have made up a whole cricket team with the name Iles!  I wouldn’t like to have kept the score for that cricket match!  

The sun has now come out after a wet morning, so it looks like being a pleasant evening.  Hope you all have a good weekend - stay safe, warm and dry!  M xx  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.