My day

By 59

Afternoon tea

… panadol and a good lie down was needed after volunteering this morning. I did a shift at Glanmire Hall which is an historic mansion a few kilometres from town. The National Trust had organised the opening of 7 private homes around the district and people came from all over the state. It was very popular and we had queues to get in.

Unfortunately no photography was allowed but I can say the place was exceptional. The current owners have done a lot of restoration work and have lovely taste. Much of the furniture is appropriate to the age of the house but with modern artworks thrown in. The owners have been run off their feet getting it ready. I’m glad I don’t have to dust and maintain it. The huge gardens were delightful with views all around to green paddocks and mountains.

I stood up for about 3 hours and can now hardly walk. While I was away Bob was busy in our garden making it look lovely when I returned.

The catering we did for last nights function was appreciated.

Vale Maggie Smith. I have just watched 6 series of Downton Abbey and have just loved her work. What a treasure she was.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.