Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Morning light

Back in the day there were no flashlights or fancy solar lights or cell phone flashlights. There was this lamp and candles.

I lit this lantern when I came downstairs this morning. It did great in the kitchen. Had leftover coffee in the camp pot so I took it out to the grill burner to heat up. We have a big 100 gallon tank for propane that we use for our gas logs in the fireplace and our grill. The propane company fills it in June and December. We really are appreciating this now.

My cousin Carl came over and helped Jerry get our generator hooked up to the well so we will have water and can plug-in the refrigerator for a time to keep the freezer section frozen. After 24+ hours of no power the food is still mostly frozen. So thankful to have water. A sponge bath and hair washing with water heated on the grill burner is going to be heavenly.

My family- my cousin Carl lives about 3 miles from us. He has 7 electric poles down and many trees all along the road to his house. He has water and a generator. Mariyah outside Charlotte is good. Never lost power. We have not heard from Tate in 3 days. We know that cell towers are out because of power outages so it would be hard for him to get a message to us. We are almost to the point of calling the police up there to drive by his house but holding off. His neighbors are good people and they all watch out for each other. So ever thankful that Levi is in Oregon and not in Asheville. The area where she lived and worked are under water. Hoping her former roommates got out to their family before the flood. The apple orchard has trees on the ground. The Lake Lure Flowering Bridge I visited so many times is gone as well as the road and many buildings at Chimney Rock. All roads into Asheville from any direction are closed. Part of I-40 near Tennessee has fallen off into the river. These are areas I know and love so I am trying to be positive.

The people in the mountains will come back from this but it will be a long hard journey.

On a positive note I have the yard almost cleaned up, I have water to get myself cleaned up, the sun is shining with clear blue skies and it will only be 80F today. A nice day for porch sitting!





.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.