Its the Way It Is

By Jeano

Lights, Action

Commenced my Acting Course today.

3 hours on Saturday afternoon.

It was soul bearing, soul searching, self expression with tutor and 6 other people.

We did exercises in connection, improvisation and talking in front of camera.

Initially we introduced ourselves and had to give any past experience of acting. I said ‘my name is Jean, I studied Film, my fellow students kept making tik toks and asking me to act in them. I had no idea what tik tok was at the time (I do now) and thoroughly enjoyed the experience and want to take it further’.

Yep that was my intro.

Then we each had to stand up individually in front of the class (please bear in mind we had never known each other before this afternoon) and they had to guess how we would be typecast by an agent. Well dear blippers, you have no idea how I would be typecast by people I had only known one hour. And as this is a family show , I can’t give details (shock horror emoji would be handy here).

Then we individually had to sit with these two lights and camera focussed on us and recite dialogue from any documentary ever made. I was unsure about this but finally settled on Werner Herzog’s Burden of Dreams regarding Fitzcarraldo. See here

https://youtu.be/VwQHKF9uSv0?si=Do0GAWm5ny3gayNj

I would like to tell you how I did this, how the tutor made me re-do it as he took the side of the film moguls trying to shut it down.

It was all just brilliant. I loved it

Unfortunately I can’t give details of my fellow students inputs. But all so interesting and engaging. There is a stand up comedian in the group and he is funny and kind.

I’m home now and exhausted. There’s only rubbish on the telly. Think I might watch Fitzcarraldo for about the tenth time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.