Look Out

By chrisf

Joyride

I have grown up with this sculpture, and inevitably it is one of my favourites. It was “unveiled” in 1958, and has become a bit of an icon for the town. The sculptor was Franta Bensky. Apparently everything he made has the same objects hidden within - an empty bottle of Guiness, a sixpence, the day’s newspaper, and a note explaining that he is the artist.

The morning began with a treat - breakfast at Cinnabar - followed by a series of tasks. Walking from the old to the new town I passed a series of murals I had not seen before(extra). I chatted to a young lady painting a design on a utility box, she told me how much she loves doing this sort of thing (extra).

It was such a lovely day - blue sky, sunshine - that I decided it would be good to go for a walk out of town, and headed to the Pegsdon Hills. Classic chalk scenery (extras)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.