Turtles All The Way Down

By Stacebob

Looking Glass

Excellent day today; a few beers, some footie, a delicious pizza, 2 amazing cocktails, all culminating in seeing Nish Kumar at Brum Town Hall. It might sound a tad pathetic, but while the whole show was absolutely phenomenal (my face hurt from laughing), the bit where he mentioned why he does comedy really hit me. As a podcaster that makes zero money and gets barely any downloads, it can sometimes feel a bit...pointless. But Sir Kumar reminded me that arts & entertainment can make an incredibly scary and difficult world more bearable. Making people smile or laugh, distracting them a bit from the stuff that gets them down? That's gold, that is. If I can bring a smile to even one person who hears my show, or shake a laugh out of them with my recorded nonsensery, why would I ever stop wanting that? (Not gonna lie, podcasting is great for my own mental health too). So if you're an indie podcaster/artist like me, & you're not getting the reception you want, remember that those folks that have listened to or seen your work? You might've changed their lives. Even just for a moment. And hoo boy is that absolutely worth it in this whole situation *gestures at everything*

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.