today's another day

By dbrereton

Derrick

This is me and my friend Derrick. Yesterday we played golf together on our weekend away with 14 others.

It was a round of golf unlike others as sadly Derrick now has Dementia. While we all know about his condition, spending 4 or 5 hours together highlights where he is at with it.

We had lots of smiles and laughter, some great strikes like the decent golfer he was, but putting that all together, in the cold conditions, with a wet and sanded course, and a buggy (he's got a bad knee too) that could only stay on the paths, made for a very busy afternoon.

While part of this made me quite sad and thoughtful about the situation, I was privileged to spend all that time with him and help him round. He's been a friend for 40 years to me, and 50 odd to others on the weekend.

Time is precious, it makes you realise. I hope he is able to swing a club still next year and be with his friends for another weekend away.

You can read more about him here, as he featured in my #PubPortrait series a few years back. 

Pub Portrait - The Lengthsman | dbrereton | Blipfoto

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.