Seriously?

By MerrilHope

Burası Türkiye (This is Turkey)

Evening stroll with Rufus - it's only 19.15 and yet I've already missed the sunset. This was at the end of what was, upon reflection, a decisive day. Up at 8am to talk to my Pool Man who like most enterprising chaps in Turkey does a gazillion other things too in order to make a living - and those that he can't do himself, well you can be sure that he knows 'a man who can'. I've decided to get some much wanted and needed home improvements done before I return to Blighty and I wanted to talk to him about it.

Around midday Rufus and I walked up the road to have a coffee with Britt and Bengt, not least to say cheerio to Janice and John who were also there. They return to Scotland tomorrow. Lovely, dear, kind friends (and the woofer's favourite biscuit giving 'Uncle'). See you next April in Akbuk (or maybe before in Scotland?) 

By the time I got back home, the pool man with a 'man who can' had already been and gone and an estimate for the verandah I want constructed along the front of my villa, to give much needed shade from the relentless summer sun, had been sent via WhatsApp.  Late afternoon (during which time I had assembled the bar stool I bought at Ikea yesterday and also accepted the verandah quote), they returned for more careful measuring and discussion of the finer points. Result. Work will start hopefully on Friday , latest next Monday.  Meanwhile, the pool man will start the garden work (removal of an area of crazy paving and replacing with gravel for winter rain water drainage and planting three fruit trees for useful and delicious privacy) also on Friday, Monday latest.  Pictures to follow. 

Fnally for today - the weather has quite suddenly, though not necessarily permanently, turned. It didn't even reach 30ºC today and tonight, at 9.30, I have come indoors as it is no longer warm enough to sit on my terrace. Even so, I 've decided not to shut down the pool yet - hoping to still be able to use it for another couple of weeks, even if today is 1st October, Burasi Turkiye. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.