Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Travelers...

The fall songbird migration through our area is in full swing right now and I spent several hours outside warbler-peeping.  At one point, this female Black-throated Blue Warbler landed about 10 feet from me at eye level.  Even firing 10 fps, I was hard pressed to get one usable shot.  Warblers are notoriously twitchy little things, always foraging for small insects in the foliage.  This is the first time in several years I've managed to get a shot of this species - my only regret is that it wasn't a male in the namesake plumage.  

I also spotted a small flycatcher (Eastern Wood Pewee), several Yellow-rumped Warblers and one lovely Blackpoll Warbler (photo in Extra).  Blackpolls in the fall can be tricky unless you can see their feet which are always an orange-ish color, very distinctive and unlike other similar looking fall warblers.

I have also released two more monarchs (both females) with three more getting ready.  They just need to stay in their mesh enclosure a few more hours until they are fully flight ready.  Looks like another 2 or 3 coming tomorrow.  Meanwhile, the crew of doomed caterpillars are happily feeding on what is left of my milkweed.  

Hubs and I are planning to watch the Vice Presidential debate tonight.  I'm not sure what to expect, to be honest.  But it will be interesting to see if Vance tries to bring up this ridiculousness about migrants eating domestic pets.  Or maybe he will bring up all of us who don't have children and own cats...  Well, hopefully the moderators can keep both candidates on track.

Charlie is recovering well from his dental procedure yesterday.  In fact, he seems back to normal which makes us both very happy.   Jax wasn't hap[y to be left inside when I ventured into the yard without him and grabbed a pair of my readers off the table and demolished them.  And that is why I order them in batches of 6 at a time...  At least he doesn't try to swallow any of the bits after he's crunched them up.  

Decided to try some almonds dusted in dark chocolate today - a good choice!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.