Kipsie

By Kipsie

Some of today's harvest

The first rainbow beetroot, sown late, so not large but big enough to taste test. Turnips have been a success, & the last of the red beetroot. I also picked French beans, spinach, Cavelo Nero, & perpetual kale.
I did two loads of washing early morning, drove down to Mum's early to get her laundry done & out on the line. Made her breakfast, walked Indie, then drove down to Teignharvey to pick apples. Drove through Shaldon, turned off for Teignharvey got 3/4s of the way to Karen's... ROAD CLOSED. Just working out my detour when I had a phonecall from a care company. Arranged call back then headed towards Torquay, turned down the narrow country lanes, one vehicle wide in most places got onto the road heading towards Teignharvey then met a Heltor oil lorry, so had to reverse a way back for him to pass. A quick coffee with Karen & Carolyn, then we picked the apples as many as we could reach from the two trees in the garden. A bumper crop of huge fruits. Carolyn & I shared them. Karen & hubby are very busy with their very successful business so no time for cooking apple pies & crumbles. Drove back to Mum's via Tesco's, filled up with petrol. Grabbed a few bits from the store. Mum had lasagne for lunch. Quick & easy. Home then to hubby, made lunch, then had a good, & promising chat with the care company. A visit arranged for Friday morning. Pruned the contorted willow in the back garden. I'd promised some pieces to a lady that came to my plant sale so I walked up to her house. No one at home so I left them by her door. Came home picked up the car & drove to the allotment. Picked veggies after a quick chat with Stuart, another gardener on the site. Home again, watched The Chase, then Richard Osman's House of Games. Sorted dinner during the advert breaks.
Drove back down to Mum's. Tea plates with sliced fresh mandarin (which I'd prepared for Mum at lunchtime for her teatime snack) with bits of Wensleydale with apricots, plus bags of mini cheddar were in the kitchen, plus 3 plates on the coffee table in the sitting room. Phew!! Did a bit of jiggery pookery then we sat & watched TGBBO together before I got her off to bed.
Home again now, a quick read before I hit the sack.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.