Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Odd Fellows

Today JR, after the gym of course, went into town for something she needed, and I was to meet her at the bank for an appointment with a bank teller who had suggested a better account. 

So Archie and I set off later to walk into town. Yes! I walked again (5,056 steps). It took me an hour (JR does it in 40 minutes or so), but we got there. I happened to look up at a building I've passed a million times - The Oddfellows Hall. Some very fine gargoyles reside up there, unnoticed by the crowds swarming down below. That sent me off on a rabbit hole of internet searches tonight about 'Oddfellows'. (Some famous ones - Winston Churchill, Charlie Chaplin, Franklin D Roosevelt).

We were just in time to meet at the bank, which is a very good bank because it allows dogs in. We had to wait quite a while, well after the 3pm appointment, but Archie was so patient. I enjoyed the much needed sit down. Anyway - all sorted. A (marginally) better interest rate, and no charge to use it abroad. 

I got the bus home, but the others walked. So Archie walked both ways - he'll sleep soundly tonight! He got a nice surprise after his tea - Elizabeth came to collect him and take him to her house - he's having a sleepover there! 

We are off on a jaunt tomorrow morning. Exciting.

STOP PRESS: I’ve checked, and no, they’re not gargoyles. They’re grotesques.  Gargoyles, as we all know, are functional water spouts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.