Marking Time

By Libra

The silent killer

Today I discover the reason why all the small birds have disappeared from my birdfeeders.
 
I thought it was the birdseed because I had changed to another brand which claimed to be much healthier for wildlife.  But the birds hardly touched it. Maybe they are not into healthy eating so I revert to the original sunflower seeds. 
And still the birds do not come.
 
So today I put the wildlife camera out, not expecting to see anything but crows and magpies. Instead there was this beautiful  specimen of a sparrowhawk.

  A quick check on Google revealed sparrowhawks have been known to frequent gardens in search of small prey like tits, finches, and  sparrows.
 
What to do? Well, I am certainly not laying out a banquet of small birds for it to feast on.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.