Wy'Irish at Elk Mountain

 A late blip for me but I wanted to take some pictures where we played this evening. We went to a tiny town called Elk Mountain about an hour's drive west from Laramie. They have a fabulous historic hotel built in 1905. People come and stay here and go hunting or on to other places in Wyoming. The restaurant apparently is top notch. Well, they were having their first Oktoberfest and they wanted us to come play for them. While we don't quite fit the bill for German music I think the Irish fit right in. People came and sat out on the lawn and listened to us play.
The weather is incredible for October 4th and we played until 8:00 this evening outside. Just behind us was a wooded area and apparently there was a moose and her calf that everyone saw but me... I did see the deer though.
Behind me is the hotel and they had food and drink available outside. We took a break after about an hour and 15 minutes and had some excellent food and then played some more until the cold got to us and the fiddlers pegs kept popping and our strings going out of tune. Mine lasted until midway through the last tune. 
Now off to bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.