Munni

By Munni

Early Birds

I got up early and drove to the main station, to pick up my mother’s new caregiver M (yes, another new one, the 13th carer by now). The bus was supposed to arrive at 8 a.m., so I was at the car park at 7:55. And waited. 

I got out of the car and blipped the early birds at sunrise - mostly pigeons, but I also saw some of the feral parakeets that are living in the city‘s parks and gardens. 

Then I got back into the car, because it was quite cold (6°C). And waited. Sadly, I could not phone M, because her agency hadn‘t given me her phone number. 

The bus finally arrived at five past nine. M hadn‘t been able to phone me either, because  - you probably guessed it - the agency hadn‘t forwarded my phone number to her, despite me having specifically asked them to.  

It would have been nice to stay warm and have breakfast in that hour I spent freezing my feet off in the car park.

Anyway, M is here now, and she seems to be a competent and empathic carer, which is the main thing.

In the evening I will drive to my mother’s again, to pick up E, drive her to the station and wait for another bus with her. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.