If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Bearded Tit ( Panurus biarmicus )

Clickychick had an event in Ambleside so I offered to drop her off.  I had an ulterior motive, I was going to continue to RSPB Leighton Moss Reserve.  I knew from things said on the internet and the RSPB pages that this time of the year Bearded Tits could be seen at the grit trays.

The grit trays are beside the causeway so by the time I got there it was after 10:15.  I had also found out they were mainly active between 8:30 and 10:30  I was disappointed to find no birds in sight but there were about a dozen folk hanging around so I thought I might as well join them.  Soon after this single male arrived and I got plenty of shots.

You will find Bearded Tits listed in some books as Bearded Reedlings which is actually correct they are a reedling not a tit.  Some people may be puzzled by the concept of grit trays.  Birds have no teeth, food is ground up in a muscular organ called the gizzard before being passed into the stomach.  BT are rare the total UK population in 2017 was 695 pairs.  The 20 pairs on the reserve would have to go to places like roads to find grit unless it was provided.  There would obviously be a risk of casualties so just as you would for a captive bird grit is provided on "Bird Tables" but with grit not food.

The extras are Great White Egret, Grey Heron and one of the 5 Red Deer Hinds hanging about in front of the Tim Jackson hide.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.