Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

Fire: Tiny Tuesday

The closest thing I can get to a fire is a red candle with a yellow flame, emulating, in its own small way, a real log fire in the hearth.

Of all three fire signs, I have  many Sagittarius in my life, starting with my dad, my son and grandson, also two friends of the same sign. My brother is a Leo. I find the Sagittarius subjects seem to fit in well with my Earth sign (Taurus). 

The word fire makes us think of warmth, heat, passion. We might even refer to someone we may have had feelings for as 'an old flame'. 

There are also poems about fire and flames. One poet that I admire and love is Rabindranath Tagore. He says it all in these few lines:
"Light, oh where is the light?
Kindle it with the burning fire of desire!

There is the lamp but never a flicker of a flame--is such thy fate, my heart?
Ah, death were better by far for thee!"


It feels as if he may be feeling the pain of unrequited love.


We can find many metaphors connected to fire and flames. Words are such wonderful things that nourish our very depths. The flickering flame of knowledge and the burning fire of desire!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.