Camera-Shy

By shy

Little White Bulls

After the rain stopped and the sun came out we went off to our local National trust property - Cannons Ashby - to be greeted by blue skies and white fluffy clouds. We'd been so many times we didn't do a tour of the house, but contented ourselves getting pictures of the house from the outside and some wide angle shots of the surrounding landscape. Later on we went to the churcyard and whilst I was composing a shot of a pretty wierd gravestone, an aircraft was passing overhead I finished composing, took the shot and then looked up to see what I was missing in the sky. Damnation! It was a bloody low-flying WW2 Lancaster bomber and all I saw of it was the fast receeding tail-gunner's turret. The incredible sound should have made me look up straight away. It wasn't as though I didn't have a camera on me.

At the bottom of the churchyard was a field and on the horizon there was a herd of cows. After a couple of minutes Flick noticed they were walking towards us. Then she noticed they were running towards us. Then she noticed they were charging towads us. Then I noticed they were slowing down as they approached.

"These cows seem quite friendly" I said
"Bullocks" she said.
"No, they really do seem quite friendly"
but she had gone.

I got a few shots of the cows - flies and all, and as I walked back the mother of a young family that was approaching the cows stopped and informed me that my wife was in the church on the basis that there was a huge stone wall between her and danger. I thanked for relaying the message and told her that the cows were really friendly.

"Bullocks" she said.

Doen't anyone listen to me? They were really friendly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.