David J. Rose

By djrose007

Anny Reid Award

What a decision to have to make. This Anny Reid (RAF Group Captain, retired) award was created by Anny a few years ago to be awarded to the outstanding RBL Riders member of the year.
I was awarded it in, I think it was, 2018 after joining the Riders Branch in 2014. I actually joined before that year but I wasn't riding, I was restoring a very much abused 1989 Suzuki GSX750FK (Blip entry of the finished article).
Now, as Gloucestershire County Rep, it is my task to select one, out of 81 members in Gloucestershire, who deserves to be called outstanding.
It's not as difficult as it might sound because of those 81 we only have about a dozen who actively take part in activities and events.
I have 3 people in mind, they all deserve some recognition but I think I know who I will pick for this year, and who I will probably pick for next year.
And why a globe trophy? I've never asked but I would guess it's because the Royal British legion Riders Branch is global, although most members are in the UK we have branches in Cyprus, U.S.A., Spain, Germany, Jersey, BFPO (British Forces areas), and others that I'm not aware of.
We have close to 5,000 members, the largest branch of the Royal British Legion by far.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.