Wendy's World

By Wendles56

Swans, Mushroom Pickers and Bullfinches

My title lists some of the things I noted on my walk early doors to make the most of the morning sunshine.  I dropped off a document in the village first thing and popped into the Post Office for some change for one of WilsdenWalkers crazy party games we will be involved in this weekend (!). She tells me it isn't serious gambling!  It was so lovely out that I didn't stop to take off my boots back home, but picked up my camera and went straight back out into St Ives.  

Focusing on some autumn colours, I missed a bliportunity which was the juvenile swans in flight across Coppice Pond, drat!  However, it was so pretty in the woodland that I didn't stay cross for long as there was so much else to see.  Climbing up the path by my favourite wall I updated my blip record of the felled trees and had a nosy in some of the new planting tubes to see if there was much action.  Good to see tiny oak trees looking healthy.

Just before I reached the road crossing at the top of the wood, I spotted the light landing on these leaves through the canopy and heard voices from the thickest part.  I reckon it was a family of mushroom pickers in an area I did not know was good for them.

Having crossed over to the moor I heard an unfamiliar bird call and opened Merlin on my phone.  Bullfinches, and wrens too, excellent!

Walking back down our street I spotted Tony repotting the pots at the front of the house with cyclamen and wallflowers and asked if he was ready for a cuppa, smashing start to the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.