wingpig

By wingpig

picked the wrong week

Fortunately, a number of G- and F-cramps were amongst the garage bounty from my parents' old house, allowing me to make a fair attempt at a temporary repair to the tread of my running trainers, which started flapping about this morning but which I fortunately stopped to investigate by hand, rather than quickly scraping it off in case it was a leaf glued on with dogshite. It was sunny enough on the kitchen window to get the bits washed and dried by mid-morning, in the hope that the glue would be set by the next day. As well as the bit which was flapping off there was one small section missing and two more loose; I'd thought the other day that I must have landed on a particularly slippy leaf on my way through the crematorium but it might have been the loose bit starting to loosen as I turned a corner. I'd already started building up a group of tabs of potential replacements after the heels started peeling away but in fourteen years the world of trainers still hasn't really moved on from the "fuck-all choice for the wide-footed" paradigm. Even Nike's custom builder function no longer allows the combination of waterproof AND grippy AND wide, making it a very costly way just to get something which isn't partially white. It also only has normal or wide, rather than two types of wide, and a quick chat with their help robot indicated that there didn't seem to be any actual samples of wide-fit shoes of any colour or design anywhere in their two nearby shops. They're also unable to match my order number from 2010 up to a particular specification and can't tell from the label which width fitting I eventually went for.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.