Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Afternoon Tea

No, I haven’t been reckless and gone for an afternoon tea while I’ve got Covid!

My longest-standing BBC friend and I (both called Jane, we started at the Beeb on the same day in 1977) have been planning a day out together. So today I took advantage of my enforced idleness and researched afternoon tea bargains online. I discovered that Virgin Experience Days has an extra 20% off its vouchers this weekend, so we’ve settled on a venue, date and time and it’s all booked. The Swan Restaurant at The Globe Theatre on the South Bank in London had 81 reviews for its afternoon tea with a theatrical twist, and an overall rating of 4.9 stars out of 5. Reviewers were pleased with the surroundings, quality of food and service. I spoke to a member of staff on the phone to book, who was both pleasant and efficient which hopefully bodes well. Something nice for us Janes to look forward to!

The only other action today was a young lady with a charity ID tag and a clipboard calling at my front door in the pouring rain. “Hello, how are you today?” she enquired a bit too cheerfully. “I’ve got Covid, so I don’t really want to stand at the door chatting” said I. You’ve never seen a face fall and a person scarper so quickly in your life!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.