There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Making a List and Checking It Twice

I am the girl of 100 lists, 
From what shall I wear, to who I have kissed!
Check items off, let nothing be missed.
Sing I to myself and my 100 lists!

Yes, I admit that I did have a hand-written list of all of the items I typically take on a one-night backpacking trip. When my husband and I went out backpacking  to Moshannon State Forest in September, I typed up that list into a spreadsheet, and I packed to the list. Then I reviewed it and updated it. 

I also reviewed and updated my list before and after October's Quehanna trip, with the help of my good friends Little Moose, Tiny Tiger, and Anteater. So now I have a nice, fresh, updated list that's neat and easy to read. Thanks, friends! Just for fun, and for any who may be curious, I'm including my list below. Here's what the gear looks like all packed up.

And yes, it is indeed a rather long list, but you only end up in the woods with what you take there. If you want your Limoges china (hello, Karen Blixen, in Out of Africa), you can have it. But you are going to have to haul it on out into the woods and back your very own SELF. (How much does the stuff I carry weigh? 60 pounds!)

Before we went on our Quehanna trip, which is our longest backpack these days, my husband mentioned that he was paring down on what he was packing. In a frenzied moment, I remember shouting back, "I'm NOT paring anything down! I'd rather DIE first!" Ha ha ha ha ha!

Our soundtrack song is the Go-Go's with Girl of 100 Lists, some of whose lyrics appear above.

Backpacking Checklist

Gear
Blue Kelty backpack (with plastic bags, bungee cords, waters)
Bright blue sack (with sleeping pads, blankets, pillow)
New Kelty down bag OR regular blue sack with sleeping bag
Brown sack with tent, poles, stakes
Black sack with fleece blanket and pillow cover
Tent fold-up chair
(If short distance) larger bag chair
Small cooler
Ground sheet for tent
Half ground sheet to put stuff on
Sitting pad

Details of Gear
Several regular sleeping pads
Big Agnes green sleeping pad and pump
Two tan blankets for tent floor
Bamboo pillow from Grange Fair

Other Stuff
Fanny pack (what's in it?)
2 flashlights, one may be a headlamp
Book
Magazine
House journal
Monthly planner
Boker set - knife, fork, spoon
Plastic jug with lid
Small container of tap water
Tissues
Toilet paper
Wipes
Camera, with memory cards and batteries
Whistle (in camera bag)
Frisbee
Fly swatter
Coozie for drink
Hand heater(s), if winter X 2
Small tote or daysack
Small or bigger towel
Tunes box and ear buds X 2
Medications for one night
Several empty plastic bags
Blue Christmas lights
Clear plastic container (with tent flag, Quetzal, RBG)

Clothing
Long pants (wear; tuck many tissues in pockets)
T-shirt (wear)
Extra t-shirt
Long-sleeve shirt
Bra (wear)
Boots
Socks that fit boots
Underwear (wear) plus one extra pair
Watch
Small pair shoes for around campsite
Zippered fleece jacket with hood
Vest
Wind shell
Comfy clothes to sleep in, no belly gap
Socks to sleep in
Sunglasses
Purple hat
Long underwear bottoms
Head band
Mini gloves
If summer, shorts, swimsuit, towel, water shoes

Health & Beauty Aids
Powder
Deodorant
Sliver of Lever 2000 soap
Bug repellent
Sunblock
Oil of Olay moisturizer (in fanny pack)
Hair brush (in fanny pack)
Toothpaste and toothbrush (in fanny pack)
Anti-itch cream (in fanny pack)

Friends
Alex the Alligator
Little Bear
Moose
Anteater
Tiny Tiger
Quetzal the green bird
Lil Ruth Bader Ginsburg (RBG)

Provisions
3 bottled waters
Snack bars
Food
Evening drinks

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.