Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

I did something

When I planted the mums from previous years in this flower bed. They are booming! You can’t see the mauve and the dark burgundy color but they are also blooming.

I just bought two more orange mums and I will be planting them after they bloom. I might go back to get that dark burgundy too!

I do like it when the flowers bloom in spite of me.


I have been researching the best place to donate funds for relief efforts and have decided that Samaritans Purse which is based in Boone NC is the place. They are active in every county in these hard hit areas and also in Florida, Tennessee and Georgia. The volunteers are now helping with clean up, tarping roofs and other things that are helping get people back in their homes. They have resources for water and electric help and medical. Give if you can.

Many of the areas have hot food, supplies and sleeping facilities available set up by locals and supported by donations from off mountain people. The fire department in Creston is a hub for the community as well as several churches. Lansing, a few miles from Tate’s has the same community pulling together. We love the creek walk there and the Liars Bench restaurant. I hope both are still there.

I found out today that there are still many, many people out of power in some areas of South Carolina. Another rabbit hole to go down to understand why.

Imagine three weeks of being without. Maybe living in a tent heated by a propane space heating. Kids and babies. There is a group who are building one room sheds with a door so people can sleep in a dry space. Another group raised funds to get 18 campers for homeless families. It is mind boggling and I am a person who has camped and been off the grid for short times. There is nothing like the feel of a hot shower and hot food after living on the land.



So thankful my son and his friends are not without homes and have water and power. It was below freezing last night in the mountains. I want to go up to see my son but he says to wait. I might not be able to do that. I can find a place to volunteer. Thinking on it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.