Living my dream

By Mima

40kph dog

The chooks are starting to look a little raggedy. I kind of feel it is their due, because they have been producing eggs constantly since last summer, with no winter cessation at all. Even on the iciest darkest mornings there were eight eggs in the nest boxes.

Surely they need time to moult, no matter the fact it's spring? But raggedyness notwithstanding and despite a few feathers coming out, they are showing no signs of having a break from laying. 

As usual I collected eight today; one of which was a double-yolker (which is a weekly occurrence). 

I'm not complaining you understand, but I don't want the girls to burn themselves out too soon... We could cope with fewer eggs.

It struck me today that Bean's toe problems of the last couple of weeks may have something to do with her extraordinary uncontrolled speed when she's chasing rabbits and hares. 

I have mentioned before that she can keep up with hares, and she actually overtakes rabbits (and then looks confused and wonders what she's supposed to do next).

Earlier today I met a beautiful hare on the road home from G's garden. It ran in front of the car at full tilt for a couple of hundred metres, until it spotted a hole in the fence and dashed through it into a paddock. 

The speedometer read 40kph. No wonder Bean is susceptible to injury.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.