simonsblips

By simonslife

Lundy island day one

An early start to miss the rush hour traffic getting to Ilfracombe was a good idea thanks to chauffeur L.
A moderate wind made for a rock and roll crossing but interesting company shortened the journey on the Oldenburg carrying just 66 passengers.
I knew that my camping gear would not be delivered to the campsite until late afternoon and so after a warm drink in the Tavern I strolled around and familiarised myself with the area and bought some essential supplies from the Lundy stores.
Time soon passed and in warm sunshine I pitched my tent in the shelter of a drystone wall and prepared my supper of vegetable stir fry and beef burger cooked in butter with chives from the Lundy veg garden.
After washing up I made my way to the Marisco Tavern for a peppermint tea and some interesting conversation with those who were staying in the accommodation here or were part of the support staff who are resident here.
Looking forward to my night under canvas (modern version) I retired to the campsite and rapidly headed to the end of the alphabet. Zzzzzzzz.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.